Department of Computer Science

Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Port Harcourt, Rivers State.

Tel: +234 (0) 803 772 0614.

  1. Introduction

The Department started in February 2002, when the Academic Board of Rivers State College of Education (RSCOE) took the decision to establish Computer Science Department, and then the Department was concerned with the issue of teaching General Studies (GS) Courses in Computer Science. Lecturers were drawn from allied Departments to start the Department. Then in 2003/2004 session, there was an advocacy for B.ED Courses in Computer Science and this was approved and further ratified by the University of Ibadan and in the 2004/2005 session because Rivers State College of Education was affiliated to University of Ibadan, the Department of Computer Science started in earnest.

  • Philosophy

The Curriculum is designed to produce Computer scientists who are knowledgeable, highly motivated and professionally sound, capable to train other people both in theory and practical of computer science. The programme is also designed to develop confidence in the Computer Scientist that will enhance their abilities to adapt to rapidly changing situations in a scientifically and technologically oriented global society.

  • Objectives

The objectives of the Course are:

  1. To produce graduates who are very conversant with theories, principles and applications of computers  Science so that they could be thoroughly resourceful, adaptive and innovative in their latter employment whether in the field of computer research in the university or teaching in schools or in the industry or on their own.
  2.  To produce competent and highly knowledgeable Computer Scientist at all levels of education.
  3. To produce graduates who will be able to undertake installations, repairs and maintenance of computer systems.
  4. To produce computer Scientist who will be able to motivate students’ interest in computer through the use of appropriate teaching strategies at all levels of education.
  5. To produce graduates who will be well equipped to proceed for higher degrees in Computer Science or Computer Education.
S/NName of StaffRankDesignationQualification
Dr. Constance Izuchukwu AmannahSenior Lecturer(Current HOD)Full-timePhD. UNN, 2018)M.Sc. (Uniport, 2007), B.Sc. (RSUST, 2005), PGDE (RSUST, 2007), Algorithms, Signal Processing Software Engineering, NCS, CPN
 Dr Nathaniel Akpofure OjekudoReader(Former HODFull-timePh.D (RSUST, 2014) M.Sc (RSUST, 2007), B.Sc (Benin, 1994)Applied MathematicsCPN
Prof. P.O. Asagba   ProfessorSabbaticalPh.D. (Uniport, 2009), M.Sc. (Uniben, 1998), B.Sc. (UNN, 1991), Network System/Mgt Infor System, NCS, CPN
Prof. W. Nwankwo Professor SabbaticalPhd (FUTO, 2015), MSc (AAU,  2007), MBA (2012, NOUN), LLB (NOUN, 2017), BSc ( ARC UK, 2014), HND (2001, MIT)
Dr. P.A. Nlerum  SeniorLecturer AdjunctPh.D. (Uniport, 2015)M.Sc. (Uniport, 2005)B.Sc. (RSUST, 2000)NCS, CPN 
Dr. B.R. Japheth SeniorLecturer AdjunctPh.D. (Uniport, 2015)M.Sc. (Uniport, 2005)B.Sc. (RSUST, 2000)NCS, CPN
Dr. B. Allen Lecturer I Adjunct Ph.D. (Babcock, 2019)M.Sc. (NOUN, 2014)MSc. UNIBEN, 2016)HND (IMT, 2009)PGD (NOUN, 2012)
 Dr.  Patience, SpencerSenior LecturerFull-time M.Sc. (Uniport, 2007), B.Tech (RSUST, 2002), NCE (Ibadan, 1996) Mgt Info System. 
Dr. F.O. OnuoduReader AdunctPh.D. (Uniport, 2015)M.Sc. (Uniport, 2005)B.Sc. (RSUST, 2000)NCS, CPN 
Mr. Johnson, Ambrose Ajinwo-IkechiLecturer I,Full-timePGDE (Uniport, 2008), M. Tech (FUTO, 2004), B.Sc. (Uniport, 1989), Computer Communication (CPN)
Dr. Osaki Miller Thom-ManuelLecturer II Part-time Ph.D. (Uniport, 2018)M.Sc. (Uniport, 2010)B.Tech (RSUST, 2001)PGDE (Uniport, 2012)
Dr. Ledisi, Giok KabariSenior LecturerAdunct Ph.D. (Uniport, 2014)M.Sc. (Uniport, 2006)B.Sc. (Uniport, 1991) 
Mr. Michael, ChiefJames PhilipLecturer IIFull-time B.Sc.Ed (UNN, 2006), NCE (Omoku, 2001) Computer Education (CAT/C)
Mr. Domaka, Nuka NanwinLecturer IFull-timeM.Sc. (Ibadan, 2004), B.Sc. (RSUST, 1999),PGDE (Uniport, 2010), Networking/System Analysis, Mobile Computing, Database System, CPN
Mr Emmanuel Chinwedu AburuotuAssistant LecturerPart-time M.Sc (IAUE, 2020), B.Sc(Uniport, 2017)
Iroanwusi Chukwumeka GiftComputer TechnologistFull-timeB.Tech (RSUST, 2007), WAEC 1994, SSCE 2000TRCN, CPN
Oguzie GoodliveLaboratory AttendantFull-timeB.Sc. (Uniport, 2000), CPN
  • Staff Profile
  • Admission Requirements

To be eligible for admission into the B.Sc. Ed. degree programme, candidate must possess any of the following:

  1. Senior Secondary School Certificate (SSSC) or GCE “O” Level, NECO Examination Certificate with credit passes in five subjects, including English Language, Mathematics and Physics and any other two Science subjects from Chemistry, Biology, and Agricultural Science. A credit pass in Further Mathematics would be an added advantage.
  2. At least overall merit in Computer Science in ND or OND Certificate with an “O” Level Certificate with credit in four subjects including English language, Mathematics and Physics.
  3. At least two merit passes in Nigeria Certificate in Education which include Mathematics or Physics or Chemistry from any recognized institution in Nigeria (for a three-year B.Sc. (Ed)) programme in Computer Science Education.
  4. GCE “A” Level with at least two Science subjects, including mathematics and Physics (for a three-year B.Sc. (Ed)) programme in Computer Science education.
  • HOD Picture and Bio Data

Dr. Constance Izuchukwu Amannah MNCS, MCPN, MSIAM, MIIRD.


Surname:                                                       Amannah

Other Names:                                                Constance Izuchukwu

Date of Birth:                                                26th June 1977

Nationality:                                                   Nigerian

State of Origin:                                             Rivers State

Local Government Area:                             Ogba-Egbema-Ndoni

Religion:                                                        Christianity

Marital Status:                                              Married

Residential Address:                                    6 Chief Ehule Lane, Mile IV, Rumueme                                                                                               
                                                                        Port Harcourt.

Contact Address:                                          Department of Computer Science,      
                                                                        Ignatius Ajuru University of                        
                                                                        Education, P.M.B. 5047,                                                                              
                                                                        Port Harcourt.

Telephone:                                                     08037720614


Department:                                                  Computer Science