Department of Political Science


The Department of Political Science is one of the departments in the Faculty of Social Sciences in the Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Port Harcourt. It came into existence as one of the academic departments in the former Rivers State College of Education in June 1971. At inception, the Department was mandated to run National Certificate in Education (NCE) courses in Political Science/Economics combination only. Later, the scope of the Department was expanded as it was authorized to mount courses in Political Science/Fine Arts and Political Science/Social Studies combinations.

In 1981/82 academic session, the College was upgraded to a degree awarding institution (still affiliated to University of Ibadan) and the Department started the Bachelor of Education (B. Ed.) degree programme in Political Science. However, after the 1992/1993 academic session, Political Science/Economics and Political Science/Fine Arts combinations were phased out leaving the Department to run courses only in Political Science/Social Studies combination. This was mainly due to the dwindling number of students' enrolment in the NCE programme in the College. Eventually, NCE programme was phased out as soon as the institution gained a University status as Rivers State University of Education (currently, Ignatius Ajuru University of Education) in 2009.                                                                     

Currently, the Department of Political Science awards the Bachelor of Science (Education) - (B.Sc. Ed.) degree in Political Science and it is staffed with highly qualified, academically-focused and energetic lecturers who consistently strive to provide experienced academic guidance and the much-needed democratic ambiance for fecund cerebral engagements.


Philosophy of the Department

The Department of Political Science is established to offer excellent programmes of instruction leading to the award of an honours degree of Bachelor of Science (Education) in Political Science after a three or four year course of study by the student (depending on the point of entry). It is also established to contribute to the achievement of the vision of the University through the training of such manpower that would enhance the development of Nigerian educational system, promote scholarship and conduct research that would impact both the African sub-region and the international system.

Vision of the Department

To be the best Department of Political Science among tertiary institutions in the production of outstanding graduate teachers of Government and political science, who will distinguish themselves anywhere in the world.

Mission of the Department

To attract and train high calibre students to become first-rate political scientists using well-motivated, creative and conscientious staff committed to building a university of choice in Nigeria, Africa and the world.


Specifically, the main objectives of the Department of Political Science include:

  • To offer instruction, training and learning that will lead to the development of social and political consciousness in individuals so that they can contribute their own quota to the developmental needs of Nigeria and the world at large.
  • To prepare students for the acquisition of sound knowledge so adequate in scope and content as to enable them function as political scientists anywhere in the world.
  • To prepare students for administrative, managerial and decision- making positions in both the public and private sectors both locally and internationally.
  • To prepare students to be pedagogically sound teachers of government and political science in different schools in the country and outside.
  • To provide consultancy services to the community and conduct
    seminars and workshops.


coming soon


coming soon